Designed by W.T. Krausch, a well-known engineer at the time, the building, now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, features a unique design to best accommodate the railway which once traveled through its lower level.
The Rail & Commerce Building first opened its doors on July 3, 1926, originally titled "Burlington Mail Terminal".
The original building was designed to feature a "Daylight Factory" design. Large windows fill the exterior walls to flood the space with natural light.